Connect with us

Indonesia To Ban Travellers Coming From 6 European Countries And Iran


Indonesia To Ban Travellers Coming From 6 European Countries And Iran

Indonesian Foreign Affairs Minister Retno Marsudi announced a series of measures in response to the coronavirus outbreak (COVID-19). These measures will take effect per Friday (20.03.2020) at 00.00 Western Indonesia Time (GMT+7).

The Indonesian government has suspended its visa-free policy for short-stay visits, visa-on-arrivals and diplomatic/service visa-free facilities for all countries, for a period of one month.

All foreigners who intend to visit Indonesia now need to obtain a visa from Indonesian missions in accordance with the purpose of their visit. Upon submission, applicants must provide a health certificate issued by relevant health authorities from their respective countries. Moreover, all visitors/travelers must now complete and submit a Health Alert Card to the Port Health Authority upon arrival at Indonesian airports.

Indonesia had already imposed a ban on the arrival (or transit) of people from China as well as arrivals from specific cities or provinces/regions in Iran (namely Teheran, Qom, and the province of Gilan), Italy (Lombardy, the Veneto region, Emilia region, Romagna region, Marche region, and Piedmont region) and South Korea (Daegu and the province of Gyeongsangbuk-do). These bans remain in place.

The government now also denies entry (or transit) for visitors who have traveled in one (or more) of the following countries over the past 14 days:

• Iran
• Italy
• Vatican
• Spain
• France
• German
• Switzerland
• United Kingdom

In case an Indonesian citizen wants to enter Indonesia but has been in one of the countries above, then an additional screening shall be carried out by the Port Health Authority upon arrival. If no initial symptoms are found, a 14-day self-quarantine is recommended. If no initial symptom is found, a 14-day self-quarantine will be strongly recommended. However, if the screening shows initial symptoms of COVID-19, then a 14-day observation in a government facility will be enforced.

Continue Reading


To Top