Indonesia Plans To Add 47 New Countries To Visa-Free List

After President Joko Widodo signed the presidential regulation on visa-free travel for 45 countries in June, 47 more are now set to be included.

The Indonesian government in October will waive visa requirements for nationals from an extra 47 countries, and it will also relaunch talks with Australia on visa reciprocity.

Once the new measure comes into effect, people with passports from a total of 92 countries will be able to enter the country for short-term tourism trips without a visa.

"We're doing this because offering free visa [visits] is the quickest way to increase tourist numbers -- and it costs nothing," Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs Rizal Ramli said on Tuesday, as quoted by news portal

Tourism Minister Arif Yahya, meanwhile, said the government would renew talks with Australia to see if the country would be willing to reciprocate if it would be added to the Indonesian list of visa-free countries.

"We will lobby our friends in Australia," the minister said.

The existing list of Visa-free countries is as follows:

Singapore, Thailand, Myanmar, Brunei, Malaysia, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Philippines, Chile, Morocco, Peru, Ecuador, Hong Kong, Macau, China, Russia, South Korea, Japan, United States, Canada, New Zealand, Mexico, United Kingdom, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium, Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Norway, Finland, Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman, and South Africa.